20-man lineup for Long Teng Cup Unveiled

By Mikhail de Guzman

Twenty players have been called up to represent the Philippines in the upcoming Long Teng Cup which will be held in Kaoshiung, Taiwan from September 28 to October 4.

A lot of new faces are in the team which will also make up the core of the Under-23 side that will represent the country in the upcoming South East Asian Games to be held in Jakarta on November.

Below is the list of players, position and their club (if applicable):

1.  Aly Borromeo, Defender, Kaya FC, Captain
2.  Emelio Caligdong, Midfielder, Philippine Air Force FC, Vice-Captain
3.  Phil Younghusband, Forward, Loyola Meralco Sparks FC
4.  James Younghusband, Midfielder/Defender, Loyola Meralco Sparks FC
5.  Mark Hartmann, Forward, Loyola Meralco Spraks FC
6.  Matthew Hartmann, Midfielder, Loyola Meralco Sparks FC
7.  Jeff Christiaens, Midfielder, Torhout KM
8.  Carlos De Murga, Defender, Racing Club Portuense
9.  Roland Muller, Goalkeeper, MSV Duisburg
10. Lemuel Unabia, Defender, Negros-Ceres
11. Reymark Fernandez, Defender
12. Nickson Leonora, Defender
13. Oliver Poetschke, Midfielder, BFC Preussen Berlin
14. Angel Guirado, Forward, Global FC
15. Jason De Jong, Midfielder, FC Dordrecht
16. Misagh Bahadoran, Forward, Global FC
17. Roel Gener, Defender, Philippine Army FC
18. Eduard Sacapano, Goalkeeper, Philippine Army FC
19. Lexton Moy, Midfielder, Kaya FC
20. Ian Araneta, Forward, Philippine Air Force FC

In last years’ edition of the Long Teng Cup, the Philippines had a one win, one draw and one loss record, losing to champions Hong Kong (2-4), drew against Chinese-Taipei (1-1) and winning against Macau (5-0) where Ian Araneta made a hat trick performance. Published in Soccer Central Philippines with reports from Inquirer.net.